The 2014 Mercedes-Benz DTM driver squad

Mercedes-Benz has seven drivers in the line-up for the 2014 DTM season.

Vitaly Petrov

Russian driver Vitaly Petrov is new to the DTM team at Mercedes-Benz. Petrov again made history in Russian motorsport on joining the DTM. The first Formula 1 driver his country has ever produced also became the first Russian to contest the DTM this season. From 2010 to 2012, Petrov secured 64 world championship points in 57 Formula 1 races and joined the party on the podium after placing third at the Melbourne season opener in 2011.

Pascal Wehrlein

Last season, 2013, Pascal Wehrlein made his DTM debut at the age of 18 years and 199 days to become the youngest driver ever in DTM history. Once again this year, the Mercedes junior is in the squad for the brand with the three-pointed star, racing the new gooix Mercedes AMG C-Coupé. Wehrlein finished in the points three times during his DTM debut season in 2013. However, he achieved success with Mercedes even before then – Wehrlein booked the number two spot in his very first season as a rookie in the Formula 3 Euro Series at the wheel of a Dallara-Mercedes fielded by Mücke Motorsport.

Christian Vietoris

German driver Christian Vietoris is in his fourth DTM season this year. Vietoris on 77 points placed fourth in the overall standings last year, making him the best-placed Mercedes-Benz driver. He secured his first victory in the popular touring car series this season in the DTM race at Oschersleben despite adverse weather conditions. The DTM AMG Mercedes C-Coupé driven by Vietoris is liveried in the colours of team sponsor Mercedes-Benz Original-Teile.

Paul Di Resta

2010 DTM champion Paul Di Resta rejoined the DTM this season. The Scot has returned to the DTM after three seasons in Formula 1 with Sahara Force India-Mercedes. Di Resta and Mercedes-Benz can look back on many years of working together. In the year 2000, he won the McLaren Mercedes Champions of the Future kart series. In 2006, he achieved victory in the Formula 3 Euro Series, utilising the Mercedes-Benz Formula 3 engine. From 2007 to 2010, Di Resta lined up on the DTM grid for the brand with the three-pointed, taking six victories from 42 races.

Gary Paffett

Along with Paul Di Resta, Gary Paffett is one of two DTM champions in the squad at Mercedes-Benz. He is lining up for the eleventh time with Mercedes-Benz in the DTM this season, 2014. In addition, having achieved 20 victories, 2005 DTM champion Paffett has the most wins to his name of any driver currently contesting the internationally popular touring car series. The British driver lines up in the yellow-blue EURONICS Mercedes AMG C-Coupé. Apart from working as a DTM driver, Paffett has also been active for many years as a reserve and test driver for the McLaren Mercedes Formula 1 team.

Robert Wickens

Robert Wickens is one of four DTM race winners in the driver line-up at Mercedes-Benz. The Canadian achieved his maiden win in the DTM last year at the Nürburgring in tricky conditions. He secured his second DTM win this season at the Norisring DTM season highlight. Wickens is lining up this year in the new FREE MAN’S WORLD AMG Mercedes C-Coupé. During the 2011 season, the Canadian gained his first experience of Formula 1 while testing for Marussia Virgin Racing and Lotus Renault GP.

Daniel Juncadella

This year, 2014, Daniel Juncadella is in his second DTM season with Mercedes-Benz. As far as his duties in the DTM permit, the Spaniard is also gaining experience as a Formula 1 test driver at Sahara Force India-Mercedes. In the DTM, he sits behind the wheel of the new Petronas Mercedes AMG C-Coupé. Juncadella has for many years been a member of the young driver programme at Mercedes-Benz. During the 2012 season, he won the Formula 3 Euro Series, plus the prestigious Formula 3 Masters at Zandvoort, the Macau Grand Prix and the FIA Formula 3 European Championship.