• Mercedes-Benz Sports: With the Sportsman and Comeback Award tennis star Roger Federer, number 1 in the world, now holds the record for most Laureus Awards.

    Roger Federer: The greatest in Laureus history.

    Roger Federer becomes greatest of all time by winning fifth and sixth Laureus Awards.

A truly unique honour.

He is the icon of men’s tennis, and on 27.02.2018, in the company of HSH Prince Albert and HSH Princess Charlene, Roger Federer won his fifth and sixth Laureus statuettes, becoming the most decorated Laureus Winner in history at the 2018 Awards Ceremony in Monaco. Speaking after receiving his Awards, Federer said: “This is a very special moment for me. Everyone knows how highly I value my Laureus Awards, so to win another would have been wonderful, but to win two is a truly unique honour. And so unexpected. I am delighted and I would like to thank the Laureus Academy for all their support.”

Roger Federer with his two Laureus Awards in front of the 2018 Mercedes-AMG G 63 (W 463).
Mercedes-Benz Sports: Roger Federer, World No. 1 tennis star, receives Sportsman and Comeback Awards to become most decorated winner in the history of Laureus.

Fought off tough competition.

“It was an unforgettable year for me, to come back after a very difficult 2016, and these Awards just make it even more memorable. When I won my first Laureus Award back in 2005, if you had said I would have ended up winning six I would not have believed you. It’s been an amazing ride.” In the Sportsman of the Year category, Federer fought off tough competition from the likes of Rafael Nadal and Cristiano Ronaldo to win the Award. The Swiss tennis star who won the Australian Open and Wimbledon, also received the Comeback of the Year Award, in recognition of his achievements in overcoming a serious knee injury.

Mercedes-AMG Petronas dominates Formula One.

Mercedes AMG Petronas beat the likes of Real Madrid and the Golden State Warriors to win the Team of the Year Award, after continuing their dominance in Formula One by securing their fourth successive Constructors World Championship.

Laureus World Sports Awards 2018: Toto Wolff received the Team of the Year Award for Mercedes-AMG Petronas.
Mercedes-Benz Sports: The Laureus World Sports Awards 2018 were bestowed in Monaco.

Help young people make positive lifestyle choices.

Active Communities Network, an international sport for development organisation which works in the UK, Ireland and South Africa, received the Laureus Sport for Good Award for their life-changing work in using sport to help young people make positive lifestyle choices, by learning life skills and progressing into education, training and employment programmes.